Morning shows the day

First Published: http://www.thedailystar.net/beta2/news/630-morning-shows-the-day/
Date: Sunday, July 14, 2013

6:30|MORNING SHOWS THE DAY

After many days, today I woke up without the chronic migraine. Life seemed instantly great, like one of those Nescafe commercials. I felt just the way the girls in those commercials do. I hugged myself, hugged the sunshine too.
I usually wake up at 6:30am on weekdays to the most annoying noise in the world — my alarm. The noise turns me off instantly. Then war begins with waking up my Peter Pan, getting him ready for school, shouting at him for attempting to throw up his breakfast, saying no to certain T-shirts and his nagging to put his favourite Hot Wheels in his school bag. Finally I lean against the door to wave him goodbye, as he goes to school.
Then begins my world war II; deciding whether or not I should wake up Peter Pan’s dad. My husband begs for 20 minutes more, after each round of 20 minutes, for more than 2 hours. Finally he wakes up with a grumpy face, blaming me for not letting him sleep at all. The usual, casual fight ensues: who is to be blamed for the lack of routine, going to bed at 3 in the morning, not making it to the park for morning walk etc. There are days when we wrap it up with a ceasefire. And then there are days when it turns into a fierce battle — banging doors, skipping breakfast and such. By 11am I leave home for more hard time — making it to work through Dhaka traffic.
However, today when I woke up with a brilliant feeling, I promised myself to wake up every day with an image of a perfect day, and to stick to it. Last night I changed my alarm. I set one of my favorite songs as the alarm. I promised myself that I will not shout; there seems to be a connection between shouting and the day turning worse.
The everyday stress at home and work keeps our minds occupied so much that we tend to lose temper on petty issues. All the small issues then snowball into an epic problem, causing more stress and paranoia. Let’s try to keep calm and see how things play out. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

Bengali Women

All about Bengali Women.

Oh So French

Our chic guide to styling & feeling fabulous in your lingerie.

তৈমুর রেজা

বিভিন্ন ডিসিপ্লিনে অনধিকার-চর্চার ব্লগ

foods-at-home

real taste

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Art of Appreciation Gourmet Gift Baskets

Luxury touches, affordable prices.

Rosewode

Holistics, Skin, Beauty

dollop natural bodycare

Paraben free aromatherapy skin care

Ariston Organic

"The Best of the Best"

Bloom Room SF Blog

www.BloomRoomSF.com

jodyvein26

A fine WordPress.com site

sphereheals

Where reality bends to Wholeness

saunglestreats.com Wonder of the Week

Natural treats just for you!

The Honey Cottage

Do You Know Where Your Honey Comes From? We Do!

Herbal Living

live~love~herbs

My Digital Kitchen

Healthy choices that your palate will savour but your tummy won't regret.

Ironwoman Dreams

If I can do this, anyone can.

